Audio: The Apollo Project

In January of this year, The New York Guitar Festival hosted “The Apollo Project,” a live re-imagining of Brian Eno’s 1983 album Apollo: Atmospheres and Soundtracks. Marking the 30th anniversary of the album, the performance took place at New York’s World Financial Center Winter Garden and featured Brooklyn ambient ensemble Itsnotyouitsme (guitarist Grey McMurray and violinist Caleb Burhans), multi-instrumentalist Larry Campbell, Phish bassist Mike Gordon, Brooklyn guitarist Noveller, Tortoise’s Jeff Parker and composer David Torn.

The musicians performed the album in its entirety, offering loose interpretations of the ambient music written as a tribute to the NASA moon landings. Also featured behind the musicians were scenes from the Craig Teper documentary Man In The Right Seat, a chronicle of Apollo 14 astronaut Edgar Mitchell’s epiphany in space. Following the completion of Eno’s Apollo album, the group of musicians improvised for several minutes on free-form ambient structures.

We’ve just acquired the audio from the performance, which is streaming below for the first time. You can listen to the tracks or download each individually below.

The Apollo Project

Download Links (right click, save-as)
1. Stars
2. Sarah
3. Silver
4. Deep Blue
5. Jeff
6. Stars Always

Dog Gone Blog June Mix

Greetings friends! It’s been a somewhat longer than planned time since new words and sounds have graced this page. But fear not, for this playlist holds many of the songs that have been circulating through the listening station of your humble editor of late. As some of you may know, we were graced with the opportunity to head down to Austin Psych Fest this year and discover lots of great new artists. Some of these acts are featured on this playlist including the woodland folk MMOSS, the Tuareg Jimi Hendrix Bombino along with the throwback Texas rockers The Golden Dawn. Lots of great stuff. Thanks to our friend Mike Newman from Beyond Beyond is Beyond for introducing us to the sounds of Foxygen and lots more. And lastly, thanks to the incredibly talented Johanna Andersson for providing this month’s art. Enjoy.

Download Link (right click, save as)

1. The Black Angels – Entrance Song (Rain Dance Version)
2. MMOSS – Kitty Sorrow
3. Bombino – Tar Hani
4. The Brian Jonestown Massacre – The Clouds Are Lies
5. Blues Control – Love’s A Rondo
6. Ween – Buckingham Green
7. Ty Segall & White Fence – Time
8. The Spyrals – Lonely Eyes
9. White Fence – Take Away Life’s Endless Take
10. Woods – Wind Was The Wine
11. MV & EE – Common Ground
12. Kensington Market – I Would Be The One
13. Richard Hell – I’m Your Man
14. Foxygen – Make It Known
15. We All Together – We Live Too Fast
16. The Golden Dawn – This Way Please